Miss Peregrine´s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs – Review

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Title: Miss Peregrine´s Home for Peculiar Children

Author: Ransom Riggs

Publishing House: Quirk Books

ISBN: 978-1594746031

Pages: 384

Jacket Blurb

A mysterious island.

An abandoned orphanage.

A strange collection of very curious photographs.

It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow-impossible though it seems-they may still be alive. A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

When I first saw this book I was really confused and also kind of scared. Seeing those creepy images of those peculiar children made me want to put this book down and never touch it again. But they also made me curious and I wanted to know more about the story since everybody talked about it on Bookstagram and many people went to see the movie.

Since Jacob was a child his Grandfather, Abraham Portman, could not stop showing him pictures of children who could float, had bees inside their bodies or even become invisible. He always told his grandson of his adventures and that island he lived on before he went to war but Jacob never really believed him. But little did he know that what his grandfather told him about Miss Peregrine and the peculiar children was more than true!

Ransom Riggs really created a whole new world full of magicness. It was both creepy and beautiful and after the first 100 pages I could not put the book down. The pictures really added something to the story and while I was reading I could not wait for more of them to come even though I would normally prefer to let my own imagination run wild.

I could relate to Jacob and really liked him but what kind of made me uncomfortable was the fact that he and his grandfather´s ex girlfriend were getting closer and closer. But what I also really liked was how Ransom Riggs described those different peculiar children and also how those characterisations tied in with the images! I just could not stop loving those kids and also wanting to learn more about them!

All in all I can say that I am more than glad that I picked up this book. If you want to read something new and also a little bit different from other fantasy books I totally recommend you to read MPHFPC! It is a quick and easy read and you will definitely will fall in love with the story!

Overall I give it a 4/5!

Oh and let me give a quick shoutout to „librosophie“ for telling me to read this book! Thank you Sara!

6 Kommentare zu „Miss Peregrine´s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs – Review

Gib deinen ab

Kommentar verfassen

Bloggen auf WordPress.com.

Nach oben ↑

