The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon – Review

I read ‚The Sun Is Also A Star‘ a few weeks ago and I’m still not over it. I decided to write a quick review since I loved it so much. So, here we go!

Title: The Sun Is Also A Star

Author: Nicola Yoon

Publishing House: Penguin Random House

ISBN: 978-0-552-57424-2

Pages: 348

 

Jacket Blurb

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

 

 

First of all, that cover is gorgeous, right? When I saw it in the books I immediatley fell in love and had to get it. But the cover is not the only beautiful thing about this book.

Luckily, I did not have trouble getting into the book. The thing with TSIAAS is that the book has many different narratives. It is a multi-viewpoint novel. I personally do not have a problem with that but I know that many people do not like books which have more than one or two narrators.  So you should be aware of that.

Now, onto the characters and storyline.

It is obviously a love story which will make your heart melt and actually wonder if you could really find true love in a day. Some people say that it is cheesy but I actually loved the way how the author made us believe that you can find your true love and develop strong feelings for them in such a short time.

“I didn’t know you this morning, and now I don’t remember not knowing you.”

Natasha is very confident, ambitious and only believes in science. She tries to stop the deportation and is not expecting to meet someone on such an important day.
Daniel is a hopeless romantic and immediately falls in love with Natasha. He does not know that Natasha and her family are being deported.

I really loved that the reader got to know something about both families of the two main characters and get to see that they both come from very different families with different attitudes towards other cultures and their children’s life.
Daniel’s mom lived in South Korea and Natasha’s family originally lived in Jamaica. It was interesting to see what their life was like and how their families dealt with immigrating into a new country.
Natasha and Daniel both have nothing in common and meet in New York City, in one of the largest cities in the world. Meeting once is not enough, no, they bump into each other more than once and it becomes clear that science has nothing to do with it. Natasha is obviously unsure of all of this since she never really believed in true love or fate. But Daniel tries to convince her that they are meant to be. But will it work? Will Natasha be able to stop the deportion and fall in love with the quirky Daniel? Well, why don’t you find out for yourself?

All in all, it was a 4.5/5 star read. It really made my heart flutter and I did not expect it to end like that. (I actually had to cry oh god…)
If you need a cute, short contemporary book you should definitely read ‚The Sun Is Also A Star‘. I promise you that you will not regret reading it.

 

 

 

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

Bloggen auf WordPress.com.

Nach oben ↑